Easter Soap Carvings

2013-03-21 16.09.50

Happy Passover / Easter Week, Everybody!  I just love this season of celebrating the new life we have in Jesus, don’t you?  What better way to celebrate the “clean slate” Jesus gives us every day than with some fun soap carvings!  If carving isn’t your thing, you might want to check out the Water Color Easter Eggs project I posted last year.  You can find it here.

I know some people shy away from images of eggs and bunnies to celebrate Easter, but I look at them as reminders of the fresh new “spring” life we have in Christ.  Nevertheless, I have also included cross and butterfly images in my templates for those of you who would prefer something more obviously Christian.  You can download my template pdf for free here: Templates.

You’ll need a few supplies for this project:

  1. Soap (I recommend Ivory)
  2. A Template (Print mine and cut one out or draw your own…you could even just draw your own outline directly onto your soap if you wish.  I printed mine on card stock to make it a bit sturdier.)
  3. A Large Craft Stick/Tongue Depressor (or something similar)
  4. A Small, Rectangular Craft Stick (or something similar such as a wooden chop stick with a flat end, or a flat head screwdriver…you could even cut off or file down the rounded part of a popsicle stick)
  5. Sandpaper (to sharpen the small craft stick into a wedge)
  6. A Toothpick
  7. A Small Paint Brush (to brush away shavings from design)
  8. A Paper Plate (optional, but I like to carve my soap on a plate to catch the shavings)

Here is a photo of my supplies:

2013-03-21 15.34.27

Ok, let’s get started!  First, you’ll want to create your “wedge” tool by sanding both sides of the end your small craft stick until you have a nice “sharp” edge for sculpting.  If you’re using a flat head screwdriver, you can skip this part. ;0)

2013-03-21 15.35.02

Next, unwrap the soap and use the side of your tongue depressor to gently scrape off the “Ivory” from both sides of the soap. Try to get the surface of your soap as smooth as possible.

2013-03-21 15.35.53

Once your soap is smooth, place your template on top and trace around it with your toothpick.  This narrow outline that you’re making is called a “stop cut”. It tells you where to stop carving away the soap.

2013-03-21 15.44.50

Once you’re done tracing, remove the template, and you should have a nice outline to follow.  Below is a photo of the cross my oldest son traced on his soap.  Unfortunately, it turned out to be too narrow in places and didn’t survive the carving process, so I don’t have the finished product of his to show you. 😦  Don’t worry, I made a much thicker cross for the templates I posted above.

2013-03-21 15.44.56

Now your ready to begin slowly and carefully removing the soap on the outsides of your tracing using the wedge tool you made (or screwdriver). Start with shallow scraping along the outside of your “stop cut” lines.

2013-03-21 15.45.57

Then work your way out.

2013-03-21 15.46.54

My youngest son chose an Easter Egg, which is much more forgiving than a cross to carve if you have younger kids.

2013-03-21 15.46.12

Eventually, you’re going to carve all the way down the sides.

2013-03-21 15.48.29

Once you get the basic shape carved out, you’ll want to use your stick and your fingers to smooth the sides and edges.

2013-03-21 15.54.23

Get as much as you can with the stick, then use your fingers to smooth out what’s left.

2013-03-21 15.55.21

Once you have the shape just like you want it, you can use your toothpick to draw in the details.

2013-03-21 15.59.20

You may need to go over the details more than once to get them to really show up.  You can use your paint brush to brush off the soap scrapings.

2013-03-21 15.59.28

You can use the end of your paint brush for larger details.

2013-03-21 16.02.04

Ta-Da!  I hope you enjoy your soap carving as much as I did mine!

2013-03-21 16.08.15

I know my kiddos enjoyed theirs!

2013-03-21 15.58.18

2013-03-21 15.47.49

Now, I’ve read that you can paint these with a thin layer of water-based paint, but I would think acrylic would be better if you’re going to handle your sculpture at all.  I haven’t personally tried either though, so I can’t really say for sure.  If you decide to experiment with paint, PLEASE let me know what you use and how it works!  And as always, please send me pictures for my student gallery if you decide to give this project a try!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ivoryspring
    May 22, 2013 @ 23:22:26

    What a clever idea – you are so creative!!! I love the soap idea. Hope you are well. Things have been crazy at my end. It would appear you had tried to upload a picture of a rooster/chicken in commenting on my chicken post today, but the picture didn’t show. I thought maybe you had shown it on your blog…

    Hopefully, I will get caught up with things soon.

    Reply

  2. mardiya Dali
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 00:18:32

    nice one

    Reply

  3. mardiya Dali
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 00:21:34

    nice job

    Reply

Leave a Reply

